Samuel Morse (1791 – 1872 )


Government and representation :
- The Association is self-governing. Every three years one member-club having Full   

   membership of the Association shall nominate the "EUCW Chairman". Such clubs shall take it in turn to

   nominate the Chairman in accordance with the sequence of the following list. When a member-club is

   unable to nominate a Chairman at the appropriate time the retiring chairman has responsibility to seek.
- Each member-club is represented within the Association by an appointed EUCW Communications

   Manager (ECM). The CTC ECM is Den - 9A3FO.
- The EUCW is officially represented by the "EUCW Chairman". The term of office of the EUCW Chairman

   is 3 years.
- Member-clubs may use the official emblem of the Association.

Communication and Information:
The official language is English.
- The Chairman shall send an EUCW Bulletin to all ECMs once every 3 months containing

   news and information of EUCW interest.
- Each ECM is required to keep all other ECMs informed concerning matters of EUCW interest, normally

  via the Chairman and the EUCW Bulletin, but by direct communication (E-mail) when there is insufficient

   time to circulate important information by normal means.
- ECMs are responsible for promoting awareness and support of EUCW activities within the membership of

   their own clubs and encouraging co-operation between their own clubs and other EUCW member-clubs.

   They are also responsible for publicizing EUCW activities in the national amateur radio magazines in their

   own countries.

- There is no membership fee.

The purpose of the Association is: By the co-operation of member-clubs, to create support and

   encouragement for amateur radio CW activity and to defend such activity when it is threatened in any

- Using the Association as a platform-member-clubs may exchange ideas and information, arrange various

  activities involving mutual participation, and generally co-operate for the benefit of amateur radio CW





( Original site on: http://www.agcw.de/eucw/eucwa.html )

General Rules
1. This prestigious award is available to all licensed radio amateurs and shortwave listeners anywhere in the

2. Only contacts made on or after 27th April, 1991, (the 200th anniversary of the birth of Samuel F.B.

    Morse) are valid for this award.
3. Applicants should submit a list of contacts made (or SWL-stations heard) for which QSL cards have

    been received. The list must be certified by a licensed amateur who is a member of an EUCW club,

    who should state the name of his/her club and membership number.
4. The list must include date of contact, callsign of station worked or heard; band; name of operator;

    QTH; EUCW club; and club membership number.
5. Refer to http://www.agcw.de/eucw/eucw.html to see a comprehensive list of EUCW member

. Separate certificates will be issued for each class of award.
7. The fee for the award is EUR 6.-, or US$ 8, or 12 IRCs.
8. Applications for the award should be sent to the Award Manager:
    Werner „Joe“ Jochem, DK7VW

    Wendelsborn 34

    D-66606 St. Wendel, Germany
9. The Award Manager's decision is final on all applications.

Requirements for the Award
1. Confirmed CW only contacts (SWLs - CW stations heard) with 100 different stations who are members of

    EUCW clubs, over 3 different amateur bands with a minimum of 20 stations worked or heard in each

2. The total of 100 stations worked or heard over 3 bands must include at least 3 members of six diffe-

    rent EUCW clubs.
3. Up to 40 stations worked or heard on 27th April, 1991, the 200th anniversary of the birth of Samuel

    F.B. Morse, will count as double contacts. All other requirements remain unchanged.

Classes of Award
a) Standard award - 100 two-way contacts made using any authorised transmission power.

b) QRP award -100 two-way contacts made, with the applicant using not more than 5 watts out power.

c) SWL award - 100 stations heard using any power.

The attractive Award certificates are printed on heavy parchment type paper, depicting the map of

Europe "at the time of Samuel F.B. Morse."

     Click here to see the layout of the award.